Republicans Voting Today on New Nominee



Six out of the eight Republican candidates for the House speaker position voted to decertify the 2020 presidential election following the assault on the U.S. Capitol. The two candidates who voted to certify the election are Rep. Tom Emmer of Minnesota, who is the highest-ranking Republican running for speaker, and Rep. Austin Scott of Georgia. The six candidates who voted against certifying the election results are Reps. Jack Bergman of Michigan, Byron Donalds of Florida, Kevin Hern of Oklahoma, Mike Johnson of Louisiana, Gary Palmer of Alabama, and Pete Sessions of Texas.

H4: Six Republican House Speaker Candidates Voted against 2020 Election Certification

Six out of the eight Republican House speaker candidates voted to decertify the 2020 presidential election following the U.S. Capitol attack on January 6, 2021.

H4: Candidates Who Voted in Favor of 2020 Election Certification

Rep. Tom Emmer of Minnesota, the top-ranking Republican candidate for speaker, voted to certify the 2020 election. Despite expressing shared concerns over election system changes, Emmer condemned the Capitol rioting and upheld Congress’s lack of authority to discard certified electors. Emmer enjoys the endorsement of former House Speaker Kevin McCarthy.

Rep. Austin Scott of Georgia also voted for certification, criticizing the Capitol rioting and commending Pence’s refusal to overturn electoral votes. Scott, representing Georgia’s 8th Congressional District, affirmed Congress’s sole duty as vote counting.

H4: Candidates Who Voted against 2020 Election Certification

Rep. Jack Bergman of Michigan voted against certification and supported a Texas lawsuit to overturn election results in four states. Rep. Byron Donalds of Florida, serving his second term in Congress, voted similarly, rejecting the election and mounting a challenge against McCarthy.

Rep. Kevin Hern of Oklahoma, chair of the conservative Republican Study Committee, announced his candidacy recently. Rep. Mike Johnson of Louisiana, a radio host turned attorney, also seeks the speakership. Rep. Gary Palmer of Alabama, a former think tank president, supports Jordan for speaker. Finally, Rep. Pete Sessions of Texas announced his candidacy after 24 years in Congress.

Read More US News